KWH Pick of the Week: “Bald Eagle” by Connie Wanek, Chosen by Dan Boehl

Posted on May 14, 2012

0


Knox Writers’ House Contributor’s Pick of the Week 5/14/2012

Bald Eagle by Connie Wanek in Duluth, MN

Chosen by Dan Boehl in Austin, TX who says:

I did a search on the Knox Writers’ House website for “internet.” To be honest, I was looking to see if my shitty twitter poems showed up. They didn’t but Chris Tonelli’s page came up, and the conversation he, Matt Ras, and I had when KWH recorded us. I am really happy that conversation was documented. It was my first time to Minneapolis. The government was shut down. You couldn’t buy lotto tickets. 

Mary Jo Bang came up on the search, too. But that is too easy, as you see, I’ve been in love with Mary Jo since I read Louis in Love, and the book changed my life. 

But I don’t want to seem like some poet stalker. I was listening to Liz Phair’s second record while I was searching and Nashville came on. I clicked the KWH link for cities to find Nashville. Well, KWH hasn’t been through Nashville yet, so I clicked Duluth because there is a sweet workwear company located there, the Duluth Trading Company.  They make these gloves that are awesome to bike in during the winter. 

Anyway, I found Connie Wanek on the page for Duluth. This is her reading her poem, “Bald Eagle.” Her poem Rags is tight, too. 

Let us know what you think….post a comment or email us at knoxwritershouse@gmail.com

