KWH Pick of the Week: From “Deepstep Come Shining” by C.D. Wright, Chosen by William Reichard

Posted on July 1, 2012

0


Knox Writers’ House Contributor’s Pick of the Week 7/1/2012

From Deepstep Come Shining by C.D. Wright in Providence, RI

Chosen by William Reichard  in Twin Cities, MN who says:

This excerpt from Wright’s book-length poem reminds me why I fell in love with the book the first time I read it – it’s about blindness and vision, what we can’t see, won’t see, don’t see, and then, what we do. I don’t think any other poet works with the book-length poem the way C. D. Wright does – the work is complex as a novel, but distilled down to an essential core. There’s no fat here, nothing extra – just the language itself, the images and narrative threads that continue to haunt me.


Let us know what you think….post a comment or email us at knoxwritershouse@gmail.com

